Photo Blog featuring USC Football, Basketball, and The Spirit of Troy

College Football Performance Awards Announces Early 2011 Recipients

College Football Performance Awards was started in 2008 by former USC kicker Brad Smith. The awards are based on stats instead of popular vote. Two Trojans have already won CFPAs with Damian Williams winning the Punt Returner Trophy and David Buehler winning the Kickoff Specialist Trophy.

Timothy Lutes provided the photography for Buehler’s photo shoot.

Some early 2011 winners have been announced.

Today, UNC Tar Heels linebacker Zach Brown was named the Elite Linebacker Trophy winner. He follows Whitney Mercilus, David Amerson, Danny Trevathan, and Vinny Curry as the 2011 trophy winners announced so far. Brown had 91 tackles. Mercilus is the National Defensive Performer of the Year with 9 forced fumbles.

Here’s to hoping Matt Barkley wins this year’s Quarterback Trophy or National Performer of the Year Trophy….

Fight on!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s